2018 Sustainability Awards

About the Awards

The 2018 Concrete3 Sustainability Awards are now open for entries. The Awards provide architects, designers, engineers and/or industry with the opportunity to submit a concrete based product, project or initiative, substantially completed within the past three years, that demonstrates sustainability in either the production or use of concrete.

All project entries from within New Zealand are welcome, whether they relate to industrial or commercial projects, civil engineering, residential or landscaping, and whether they are process- or initiative-based.

Previous winners have included The Pride, Lion Nathan’s integrated manufacturing and warehousing facility in East Tamaki, which made extensive use of recycled glass as aggregate in concrete, and the Northern Gateway Toll Road, of which every aspect, from design through to operation, considered ways in which to contribute to New Zealand’s sustainable development.

In 2010 the Tauranga Harbour Link’s unique “Mix M” took home the Award, while in 2011 the conversion of 21 Queen Street in Auckland into a modern and vibrant office/retail complex received the highest honour.

2012 saw the extensive refurbishment of the new Christchurch Civic Building on Hereford Street collected the top prize - a transformation of what was the New Zealand Post Building into an architectural statement that adds tremendous value to Christchurch. In 2013 the stunning use of precast concrete throughout the redevelopment of Hurstmere Green in Takapuna was recognised.

EA Networks Centre in Ashburton won in 2015, a multi-purpose indoor sports and aquatics complex that reflects the region’s commitment to leisure and community facilities. Most recently the top honour went to the refurbishment and extension of 133 Molesworth Street, Wellington.

Who is eligible to enter?
Any organisation or individual who has an interest in the building and construction sector.

Award Categories
The 2018 Concrete3 Sustainability Awards will be selected from the following categories:

  • Excellence in Residential Concrete Construction
  • Excellence in Commercial Concrete Construction
  • Excellence in Civil Concrete Construction
  • Excellence in Concrete Innovation
  • Excellence in Concrete for the Community

What will your entry be judged on?
Each concrete based product, project or initiative entered may relate to any of the following areas:

  • Lean production less waste
  • Managing natural resources
  • Minimising energy use
  • Protecting against pollution
  • Respect for people
  • Setting performance targets

Your entry will be judged by a panel made up of national and international industry experts.

Each entry is judged on following criteria:

  • Environmental sustainability
  • Economic sustainability
  • Social sustainability

Extra credit will be given to:

  • Unique factors
  • Entries that cover more than one facet of sustainability (e.g. both environmental and social sustainability)

Closing date
You have until Friday 07 September 2018 to submit your entry.

Entry fee

  • CCANZ Members: for each entry $100
  • Non-Members: for each entry $150

Announcement of results
The winner(s) will be informed privately prior to the announcement and presentation at the New Zealand Concrete Industry Conference, 12 October 2018. 

The December issue of Concrete NZ's Concrete magazine will include a detailed report on the award, based on the material submitted by the entrants.

The winner of the Supreme Concrete3 Sustainability Award will be presented with the 2018 CCANZ Concrete3 Sustainability Award.

Concrete3 Sustainability Awards - online entry form

Concrete3 Sustainability Awards - pdf entry form

Concrete3 Sustainbility Awards - terms & conditions