Concrete³ Sustainability Awards

Key to Concrete³ supporting the development of sustainable concrete solutions for the built environment are the annual Concrete³ Sustainability Awards.

View the Award Winners from 2008 - 2018

Presented annually, the awards provide architects, designers, engineers and/or industry with the opportunity to submit a concrete based product, project or initiative, substantially completed within the past three years, that demonstrates sustainability in either the production or use of concrete.

When the awards began in 2008 the inaugural winner was The Pride, Lion Nathan’s new integrated manufacturing and warehousing facility in East Tamaki, which incorporated recycled glass as aggregate in concrete.

The bespoke Concrete3 Supreme Award is comprised of a hand-crafted decorative concrete plinth
with squares of grey, white and black translucent concrete from LiTraCon.

The Northern Gateway Toll Road took home the Supreme Award in 2009 for the concrete lining in the road’s twin tunnels, which made extensive use of polypropylene fibres for fire resistance, and its bridge structures which used timesaving match-cast technology for the first time in New Zealand.

In 2010 Fletcher Construction’s concrete “Mix M” for Stage 2 of the Tauranga Harbour Link project received the highest accolade for being a significant step forward in mix design and durability modelling, one which combined enhanced environmental credentials with superior performance.

The revitalisation of a multi-storey office building at 21 Queen Street, Auckland, which involved preserving its concrete frame and core while creating vibrant and thoroughly modern spaces inside and out, saw Peddle Thorp Architects rise above the competition in 2011.

Athfield Architects were declared the winner in 2012 for the adaptive reuse work on the Christchurch Civic Building, in particular the way in which significant changes were made to the existing concrete structure, creating spectacular work and interactive spaces without losing the original architectural and industrial heritage.

In 2013 Nauhria Precast was recognised for its stunning use of precast concrete throughout the redevelopment of Hurstmere Green in Takapuna, while Warren and Mahoney Architects collected the top honour in 2015 for the EA Networks Centre in Ashburton, a multi-purpose leisure facility built on the properties of concrete.

In 2016 Studio Pacific Architecture & Beca Group Ltd took home the top honour for the refurbishment and extension to 133 Molesworth Street, Wellington. The award celebrated concrete’s role in the significant upgrade and extension to one of the world’s first base-isolated buildings with lead-rubber bearings.

Each concrete based product, project or initiative entered may relate to lean production, less waste, protection against pollution, minimising energy use, managing natural resources, respect for people, and / or setting performance targets.

The Concrete³ Sustainability Awards are considered in five categories: Excellence in Residential, Commercial and Civil Concrete Construction, plus Excellence in Concrete Innovation, and Concrete for the Community.

Within each category entries are judged by a panel of New Zealand and international industry experts, using an environmental, economic and social sustainability set of criteria. From the category winners, the Supreme Winner is crowned.

MC Jeremy Elwood at the 2016 Awards
MC Nick Rado at the 2015 Awards

MC Te Radar host of the 2012 and 2013 Awards

CCANZ CEO Rob Gaimster at the 2011 Awards MC Simon McKinney at the 2011 Awards

MC Cockys at the 2010 Awards in Wellington 

MC Frankie Stevens at the 2008 Awards MC Greg Ward at the 2009 Awards